J.L. Bowen, author of Young Adult fiction

Welcome J.L.Bowen to my blog today.

I would like to thank Clare for allowing me to guest blog on her website.  I’m very excited to be here.  I write young adult paranormal and my first novel – Healer – has been released from Featherweight Press.

The theme of my story is about resiliency and how important for people to have faith, despite the traumas of life.  I’ve worked with adolescents and have found the students, who were able to survive abuse or neglect, developed relationships outside their home.  I wanted to offer hope.  Although Armond Costa suffers from abuse, his friends accept him and treat him as family.  Armond is able to heal any physical wound within three days and does not understand why.  He feels like a freak, but when he meets his real family unexpectedly, he life changes and he must choose from his friends and his biological family.

Here’s an excerpt from my first chapter:

I grabbed the wobbly banister and climbed the stairs two at a time to the attic.

A small stampede barged after me.  “Going somewhere, boy?” Uncle Peter’s heavy footsteps trailed me.  “You’ll never get the chance to heal.” His heavy panting echoed in the cramped stairwell.  “Not…after…I…get…through…with…you.”

“Not in three days, you won’t.” Aunt Janet gritted her teeth.  “I promise you that.”

Great, more pain.  They could at least tell me what I did.

My hand shook as I whipped open my door.  I charged towards the window.  Freedom was only six feet away.  Out of the corner of my eye, an elephant size blur barreled right for me.  I shrank, but Uncle Peter grabbed my arm and threw me.

As the room swirled, I crashed into the wall, knocking the wind out of me.  Sweet Aunt Janet stormed over to me and backs me against the wall.  “This. Is. Your. Fault.” With each word, she slapped me across the face and slammed my head like a ping-pong ball into the hard wood paneling.  She wheezed and stopped.  “Since it’s your damn fourteenth birthday tomorrow, they’re hunting you, putting us all in danger.”

If you’d like to find out who is chasing Armond and why, go onto Goodreads (www.goodreads.com) and add my book in order to win a free give away.   The offer is for one month.  Also, if you leave a comment on Clare’s blog, I will let Clare pick a lucky winner to get a free copy of my book.

I’d like to thank Clare for allowing me to stop by.

J.L. Bowen writes young adult paranormal books.  Her website is www.jlbowen.com and you can follow her on twitter @jbowen2.  She is currently pursuing her Master of Arts in Creative Writing.   She lives near the Rocky Mountains with her cocker spaniel, Sadie.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. elaine cantrell
    Jun 11, 2012 @ 14:24:31

    I’d like to smack his aunt. Great excerpt. Full of emotioin

    Reply

  2. Karalee Long
    Jun 11, 2012 @ 16:41:52

    Hi, J.L. I need to get your book. Can’t wait to read it. I’m always cheering for the underdog, and when it’s a kid, my heart goes out to her or him. Much success to you.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

