Intimate details. Meet author Holley Trent!

Please welcome author Holley Trent to my blog today. Holley is here as part of the Colorado Romance Writers blog hop “The Mystic Month of May.”  Please leave a comment to be eligible for a free copy of Holley’s book, Executive Decision.

This is where the blog hop takes a huge detour from The Rockies way out east to North Carolina. Just hop on 70-E and drive for about 30 hours: you’ll be there in no time.

I moved west in December during a freak snowstorm that dumped about a zillion inches of powdery cold stuff onto I-25 which made our drive north from New Mexico (we took a detour southwest through Oklahoma and Texas) take about three times as long as it should have. The more I talk to Coloradans, the more I’m told that as far as weather goes, I should expect the unexpected. After all, we’re a mile above sea level. The sun may be three inches away, but being on the Front Range causes some unique climate issues.

North Carolina’s climate is a bit more predictable. Of course, the state frequently hosts devastating tropical storms and hurricanes, and every now and then during the winter there’s some icy precipitation that causes folks to panic and clear out all the milk and bread on the grocery store shelves, but we expected those things.

North Carolinians know that November through March are the “cold” months.  June through September is the period of suffocating humidity. October is the “wear shorts with a light jacket” month. April is the wet month. That leaves May.

May is when everyone breathes easy. There’s respite from the mud caused by the spring rains, everything is in bloom, all the pollen has been washed away, the water at the beaches is warm enough for a dip, and the cardinals start to go crazy.

The cardinals are what I’ve missed most this first May in Colorado. I didn’t much notice them until after my grandmother died a few years ago. In the moments I missed her most, they seemed to show up out of nowhere. If I was looking out kitchen window, one would perch out on the deck and preen itself. If I were driving home from the grocery store, a pair would swoop down towards the road in front of my car and then flit away quickly. Northern cardinals are easy to identify and seeing the females always cheered me up.

Cardinals don’t come this far west and I’m sad for it. However, a couple of weeks ago I saw my first blue jay which I think is one of nature’s most beautiful species. North Carolina has blue jays, too, yet it took moving to Colorado for me to see one.

Looking out the window in May just makes me happy.

Thanks for indulging me! At the end of the hop I’ll give away an electronic copy of my erotic romance Executive Decision to a random commenter on this post. For information about my stories or what I’m up to, please visit me at holleytrent.com or follow me on twitter at @holleytrent.

21 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. M.L. Guida
    May 29, 2012 @ 13:28:39

    Holly, I enjoyed your personnal essay. In the mountains, you’ll see many blue jays. I can’t say I’ve seen a cardinal here. But we do have hummingbirds and they always bring a smile. At our cabin, we used to hang out a hummingbird feeder, but we attracted another visitor – bear! Welcome to Colorado!

    Reply

    • Holley Trent
      May 30, 2012 @ 05:06:06

      I haven’t seen any hummingbirds here yet! May have something to do with all the stray cats in the neighborhood. I have to confess, though, that they scare me a little. A really bold one nearly flew into my eye years ago in NC.

      Reply

  2. clareaustin
    May 29, 2012 @ 13:43:58

    Holley, I didn’t know you were from N. Carolina. I have a son in Chapel Hill at UNC. Love it back there in the spring.

    Reply

  3. Trix
    May 29, 2012 @ 14:21:39

    North Carolina and Colorado both sound lovely! I guess there’s always a transition when you move. And M.L., I adore hummingbirds…they’re so aerodynamically unsound, and yet they fly! (Plus, they say four hummingbird babies can fit into a teaspoon, which sounds pretty cute.)

    Reply

    • Holley Trent
      May 30, 2012 @ 05:07:52

      You know, for the longest time I said I would never, ever leave NC. It took me about two years to talk myself into it being okay and then the move happened like “WHOOSH.”

      Reply

  4. Helen Hardt
    May 29, 2012 @ 15:05:12

    Holley, I grew up in Ohio and our state bird was the cardinal. I’ve been in Colorado since 1986 and I haven’t seen a one. They are beautiful birds. Best of luck with your release! I’m a fellow Musa author :).

    Reply

  5. Lia Slater
    May 29, 2012 @ 15:18:17

    Hi Holley,
    Welcome to CO! I look forward to reading your work and getting to know you better.

    Reply

  6. Trackback: End of Month Round-up
  7. Lori Corsentino
    May 29, 2012 @ 19:19:16

    Hi Holley!
    Welcome to Colorado! What a fun welcome you had to the state. Indeed – any kind of weather can happen – and it will! Just remember to always have a jacket – you may need it! I’m looking forward to reading Executive Decision – it sounds great!
    Lori

    Reply

  8. Jessica Aspen
    May 29, 2012 @ 21:06:20

    Love your Southern voice, Holley. “Three inches from the sun” fabulous! I love the blue jays, but my favorites are the red wing blackbirds, because they have lovely voices. Nothing like a walk through a field of singing red wings. Maybe someday I’ll make it out east and see a cardinal.

    Reply

  9. Elizabeth Haysmont
    May 30, 2012 @ 00:49:40

    Hi Holley and welcome to Colorado. I’m a transplant too and am loving the change in bird species selection. The thing I noticed here is that the robins are ENORMOUS compared to those we had back in Illinois. Must be all those Miller moths which are just winding down in their swarming from the eastern plains to the mountain slopes. My favorite “local” bird is the Western Kingbird, which reminds me of robins except that instead of red breasts they’re lemon yellow and instead of the brown head, tail and back, they’re a lovely light gray. I only see them in spring and usually just in time to feast on the Miller moths just as the robins do. I guess that’s something I like about May as well, all the lovely songbirds raising their young.

    Reply

  10. bn100
    May 30, 2012 @ 03:06:17

    I enjoyed the post. Both sound like nice places to visit.

    Reply

  11. Elizabeth Haysmont
    May 30, 2012 @ 03:15:41

    Oh, and if you want to see cardinals, they’re in Arizona and New Mexico as well as eastern Colorado, but not in the CO part of the Rockies. Road trip, anyone?

    Reply

  12. Holley Trent
    May 30, 2012 @ 05:12:43

    Ooh, ooh! I think I’ve seen those! I think they hang out in clumps in one our back flower beds. I need to pay a bit more attention the next time they’re out, but Professor Google makes me pretty sure that’s what they are.

    Reply

  13. clareaustin
    May 30, 2012 @ 13:18:32

    Thanks all for visiting my blog. I’m off to read what Elizabeth has to say at Holley’s blog today.http://holleytrent.com/blog/ Join me there and be eligible for more prizes!

    Reply

  14. Holley Trent
    Jun 04, 2012 @ 17:37:47

    Congrats to bn100! You win a copy of Executive Decision. Please email me at holley at holleytrent dot com to let me know what format you’d like your ebook.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

