Stay home and rest!!!

How often has your doctor, your husband, or your best friend given you that advice? And, how often have you fought the idea?

I am currently going through “post concussion” syndrome. For me it means I’m just a bit more out of touch with reality than usual.

I don’t really know what happened to me. One moment I was trotting quietly around the arena with my pretty little mare, happy as a clam, calm and relaxed. The next I was sitting on a step having lost several minutes of my life.That in itself would be frustrating, but to be told to rest, take it easy, not ride my horse, not drive, read or play my violin…that’s impossible.

I took it easy, didn’t drive for a couple of days, stayed off my horse for a few days. But, I’m a rider and that means I ride six days a week. There is a definite difference in my attitude toward life when I haven’t been on my horse for a few days. 

I do wear a helmet and, since I fell on mine, I bought a new one. I know there are still riders out there who say “my head is harder than the dirt” but, just so you know where I stand…it’s not!

I’ve ridden horses since I was a wee girl and I’ve taken my lumps but I’ve never been knocked unconscious before. I like my brain and I want to keep it as healthy as possible. It allows me to write my novels, play a few tunes on my fiddle and be an enthusiastic companion to the man I love. 

I’ll rest, but I’ll not overdo that either. I’ll ride and I will wear my helmet.

If you are a rider, or someone who loves a rider, and you have an opinion, I’d love to have you post your comments.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. lorlee1
    Apr 17, 2012 @ 16:45:42

    Shame man…. Poor you! I am with you 100% regarding the helmet thing. Here in South Africa, people seem to think I am being rude towards their horsemanship skills when I insist everyone who rides on my farm, wear a hat! But I just think better safe than sorry. Best of luck with your recovery, I hope your back in the saddle in no time.

    Reply

  2. clareaustin
    Apr 17, 2012 @ 22:13:05

    Thanks Lorlee. As a rider I’m sure you know how we depend on riding to complete our day. I think one of the most amazing things about the internet is that I can communicate with someone on the other side of the world! I’m going to feature some other writers on my blog who are also horsewomen. I hope you will drop by.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

